72 F
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Annual Fire Chiefs Council Installation Brunch in Bay Shore an Overwhelming Success!


On Sunday, December 4, the Fire Chiefs Council Of Suffolk County held their annual installation brunch, the brunch was held at Captain Bill’s, in Bay Shore.

A brunch service was held from 11:00 a.m to 2:00 p.m. Numerous fire departments from all over Long Island attended. Raffle tickets were announced and sold at 11:30 a.m. The ceremony had begun right around 2:00 p.m.

Invocations were held by Chaplain Joe McCarthy, followed by a moment of silence for the lost members of the Fire Chiefs Council of Suffolk County. Don Corkery led the ceremony, followed by Robert Macaluso with the Pledge of Allegiance. President Nikolas Luparella welcomed the guests, and thanked them for coming. Don Corkery led the introduction of past presidents of the chiefs council and dignitaries, as well as the introduction and installation of officers.

President Nicholas Luparella was sworn in, other officers were also sworn in by John “Chip” Bancroft. Three Richard Van deKieft awards were handed out, first presented by Mike Barry and Irene Bodkin, the second by Thomas Kirklava and the third by Robert Macaluso and Thomas Kirklava. Two “Chief of The Year” awards were awarded, one to Stephen A. Feron of the Hauppauge Fire Department, who sadly passed away after a water rescue drill.

The other was given to Christopher Ciaccio, Third Assistant Chief of the Commack Fire Department, for rescuing trapped occupants in a house fire. The Installation brunch then concluded with the drawing of the raffle winners.